Freelancing for Journalists
Freelancing for Journalists: Premium
Taking time off
0:00
-28:12

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Freelancing for Journalists

Taking time off

An exclusive premium subscribers podcast episode
Lily’s idea of taking time off is a holiday running 250km across Tanzania

The premium newsletter today is a little late because I got distracted when I popped into town to do a couple of chores at lunchtime. Whilst there I spontaneously decided to have a quick look around my favourite clothes store. I tried on a few things. I sent photos to friends for their opinion. And I ended up buying a summer jumpsuit. Feeling in an indulgent mood I then went to my favourite cake shop to buy a treat before getting a takeway from a lush Korean food outlet.

It is very rare that I do this but since I ran 250km in Tanzania last week I thought I probably deserved a little treat and an extended lunchbreak. And that is the beauty of being freelance You can do what you want, when you want.

Which nicely segues into our exclusive podcast this week which is all about how to manage time off. How do you keep the commissions and finances flowing on your return from a break? I discuss this with Emma Wilkinson, plus how we manage to take off 5 to 6 weeks over the summer.

This post is for paid subscribers

Freelancing for Journalists
Freelancing for Journalists: Premium
Paid subscribers receive access to exclusive podcast episodes discussing a range of freelance issues. Lily and Emma give their expert tips on how to overcome these challenges and make freelancing a success.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Emma Wilkinson
Lily Canter